Dealing with the “crack”

So yesterday we came face to face with the beige and the brown, the non-food that so many of us depend on to see us through the day. We opened the packets, looked, inhaled, touched, tasted and deconstructed. We felt the tingling of anticipation in our bodies as we surveyed the table. We heard our primitive brains shout “YES! Give it to me!”

We also looked at Kate’s veg box with its rainbow colours, the mud from the earth, the beauty of the segments and the slices, the tastes and textures. We heard our pre-frontal cortex say calmly “you could choose this if you like”.

We prefer not to label food “good” or “bad”, “healthy” or “unhealthy” as that just makes us “right” or “wrong” and judged when we choose what we eat. So we define food in a different way; is it stimulating or unstimulating? What exactly are we looking for in our food?

For us, unstimulating real food gives us access to physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing. It brings vitality, energy, good sleep and a deep connection to our bellies. Also a deep connection to to our natural body rhythms of hunger and satiety. It contains everything we need to live well and happily.

Stimulating food; the beige, the brown, the “crack”, is just that. Areas of our brain light up like Christmas trees, as they would if we were about to snort a line of cocaine. It reinforces our unwanted, unsupportive habits. It disconnects us from our hunger; “one pop and you can’t stop!” It perpetuates a cycle of blood sugar highs and lows. Whilst individual items may be cheap, the habit is not cheap. It costs a lot to overeat and not just financially. We pay the price in physical, mental, emotional and spiritual dis-ease. Our bodies lack the right nutrients to function well as the “food” is processed to death.

When this sort of food has been your friend, your secret partner in life’s highs and lows, your go to pick-me-up, what can we do?  How do we relearn the art of feeding ourselves well? How do we slowly, kindly, let go of the crack? In our group we sense the dawning of awareness that the choice of the beige and the brown have caused such misery in our lives. We have been manipulated and lied to. We have been seduced by the shiny wrappers.

We can choose to let go.

The groups in Colchester and Brighton are here to support you, to share the struggle and to practice the gentle art of creating space between the craving primitive brain, our PFC which gives us expansive freedom of choice and our wise and knowing bellies. We have a process to do this. We are doing this ourselves. We are here for you.

Goodbye old friend

It was just you and me, in the secret hours of quiet and aloneness.

Just you and me.

I could feel the electric thrill all over my body as I contemplated what I was going to do.

The insistence, the magnetic pull of you, dear friend, my best companion.

Just wanting to be alone so I could get together with you.

Sometimes I couldn’t even wait to get home.

I would shop for my goodies, stash them all close by.

The boot of the car was too far away, I needed you next to me.

But then you were right there, so the temptation was to open the wrappers and just have one little tiny piece on the way home was so strong.

One tiny piece? Who was I kidding?

 

But now it is time to say goodbye old friend.

I no longer want what you bring.

The headaches, the brain like cotton wool.

The hot sweats, the swinging highs and lows.

The needing more and more, the constant search for a willpower I don’t possess.

But worst of all, the overwhelming feeling of compulsion as I search for something, anything, to satisfy my urge.

Enough! I want a life free from all this.

It’s such a waste of my life, my health, my vitality.

I want my freedom now.

I am ready to let you go so I can gently, slowly, kindly and mindfully, eat what I need.

 

#ieatwhatineed, #compulsive overeating, #addictiveeating, #bingeeating, #freedom

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dealing with the “crack”

  1. Louise says:

    What a beautiful and profound piece of writing, Jan.
    Your work needs to go global!

    Like

  2. Sally says:

    I have many times over the years stopped eating the beige food but then gone back to it. It has been a friend, a comfort but what sort of friend is it really and who needs friends that make us unwell or unhealthy. So I now get a sense of great change ahead.

    Like

  3. Thank you Louise, I think it will! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

